On the 18th January 1966, IR Griffith Primary School opened its doors for the first time. It welcomed an enrolment of 285 learners ranging from Grade One to Grade Four.

The school was named after Mr Iorworth Rhys Griffith, in honour of his contribution to the field of education as a Chief Inspector of education. The honour was bestowed upon Mr IR Griffith at a general meeting, in November 1965, for prospective parents.

The late Mrs Ruth Shaer was the first principal and Mr IR Griffith was elected as the chairman of the school commitee.

Mr Charles Wilke took up the principalship of the school in January 1975. He retired at the end of 1992.

Mrs Margaret Lancaster served as acting principal, after Mr Wilke's retirement, for six months from January 1993.

Dr Richard Hayward joined I R Griffith as principal in July 1993. He retired at the end of December 2006.

The current principal, Ms M Lopes, took up principalship at I R Griffith Primary School in January 2007.